Marist School Recognizes 2019-2020 Faculty and Staff Award Recipients

Marist School has announced its faculty and staff award recipients for the 2019-2020 school year. The award recipients were recognized at Marist’s annual St. Peter Chanel Society Recognition Dinner held on Tuesday, October 22 at the Atlanta History Center.
Mr. Mike Coveny ’81 (Director of the Marist Way, Theology Teacher)
Archbishop’s Outstanding Service Award Recipient
The Archbishop’s Outstanding Service Award honors those who work in Catholic education throughout the Archdiocese of Atlanta. Each school in the Archdiocese recognizes one person who has made a difference in the fulfillment of their school’s mission and demonstrates an overall commitment to Catholic education.
Mr. Mike Coveny ’81 is a current member of the Theology Department and also has been a member of the Social Studies Department. In addition to his teaching responsibilities for the past 15 years, he has explored the spirit of the Society of Mary through his leadership of the Marist Way Program, a formation program for laity encouraging a life of prayer, learning, service, fellowship, and vocational development. He also has focused on the overall spiritual development of Marist faculty and staff during that time.
Mr. Robert Von Hagen (Associate Director of College Counseling)
Stefanie and Sergio Stadler Arts and Student Development Grant
Part of the Faber-McKinley-Stadler Award, which is given every third year in rotation with the Tracy Faber Arra STEAM Grant and the Rebecca Cox McKinley Humanities and Global Education Grant, the Stefanie and Sergio Stadler Arts and Student Development Grant recognizes a faculty member who demonstrates professional excellence and a desire to grow in his or her discipline.
The award will support sending Mr. Von Hagen on an international trip to the United Kingdom to gain firsthand experiences with colleges there, their admissions’ officers, and their admissions policies and procedures, so Marist might best instruct and guide prospective students with an interest in those schools.
Ms. Bonita Carter (Early Learning Center Teacher)
Father Schmuhl Marist Service Award
The Father Schmuhl Marist Service Award recognizes a staff member who demonstrates Marist values, contributes significantly to the mission of Marist School, and promotes a strong sense of community among peers through collaborative efforts and style.
Ms. Bonita Carter has worked in Marist’s Early Learning Center for faculty and staff since 2010. She has a jovial disposition, a positive attitude, a gentle bearing, and a ready smile. She demonstrates the same Marist value of ardent love of neighbor that Fr. Schmuhl lived so effortlessly.
Dr. Kathryn Hamrlik (Theology Department Chair and Teacher)
Goizueta Chair of Excellence
The Goizueta Chair of Excellence recognizes innovative teaching, high standards of professional development, promotion of cross-cultural understanding and global interest, and involvement in student extracurricular activities.
Dr. Kathryn Hamrlik is chair of the Theology Department. This award recognizes her commitment to the Marist mission through her work to help students see that, through the lens of social justice, what they learn in the classroom should be of service to the world.
Mr. Jim Naum-Bedigian (Science Teacher, Football and Wrestling Coach)
Frank P. Hagan Memorial Coach’s Award
The Frank P. Hagan Memorial Coach’s Award honors a coach for his or her contribution to the Marist community and for inspiring in student-athletes growth and personal excellence through competition, sportsmanship, and teamwork.
This award recognizes Mr. Jim Naum-Bedigian’s significant and varied service to Marist athletics through the football and wrestling programs, as well as his dedication to the personal development of the young athletes he has coached.
Mr. Reinald Yoder (Business, Computer Science, & Engineering Department Teacher)
2019-2022 Loridans Academic Fellowship
The Loridans Academic Fellowship is a three-year appointment recognizing a distinguished classroom teacher for commitment to learning and student personal development, for exemplifying the educational mission of Marist School, for dedication to pedagogy and professional advancement, and for contributions to the school’s overall progress. The award offers the recipient a one-term sabbatical and related stipend.
Mr. Reinald Yoder is a faculty member who has shown significant dedication to his students and excellence in teaching. He has served as chair of the Business, Computer Science, & Engineering Department, led the Appalachian Service Project since its inception at Marist, and is a former volleyball coach. As part of his fellowship, Mr. Yoder will receive a sabbatical, which will allow him to focus on service learning and experiential education.
Dr. Shannon Crunk Hipp ’94 (English Teacher)
MacGinnitie Award for Innovation
The MacGinnitie Award for Innovation recognizes a faculty member whose initiative and innovation have made a recognizable difference in the education program, delivery of critical services, the school’s standing in the community, and/or fidelity to its educational mission.
Dr. Shannon Crunk Hipp ’94 is an English teacher and former chair of Marist’s English Department. She is a persistent innovator who seeks to improve the student experience at Marist through significant and lasting programs. Dr. Hipp was the founding faculty member of the Marist Broadcasting Club, she introduced and promoted the Harkness method at Marist, opened the Writing Center through the Marist Academic Center, and, while moderator of the Rapier Literary Magazine, facilitated the first audio CD accompaniment, among many other programmatic and pedagogical innovations.

List of 1 items.

Marist School

3790 Ashford Dunwoody Road, NE
Atlanta, GA 30319-1899
(770) 457-7201
An Independent Catholic School of the Marist Fathers and Brothers