Marist School Names 2022-2023 Faculty and Staff Award Winners

Marist School is pleased to announce its faculty and staff award recipients for the 2022-2023 academic year. The award recipients were recognized at Marist’s annual St. Peter Chanel Society Recognition Celebration held Tuesday, October 18 at the Atlanta History Center.
Mrs. Sharon Coheley, Fine Arts Teacher
Faber-McKinley-Stadler Award
The Faber-McKinley-Stadler Award recognizes a faculty member, teaching or non-teaching, who demonstrates professional excellence and a desire to grow in his or her discipline. The award consists of three grants that rotate annually. This year, Mrs. Sharon Coheley is awarded the Stephanie and Sergio Stadler Arts and Student Development Grant. She will participate in professional development workshops in New York City and Boston, focused on the Alexander Technique and other pertinent pedagogies in music education. This award recognizes Mrs. Coheley’s long-standing, significant contribution to our students’ growth and development in the fine arts, which can be witnessed during student performances throughout the year.

Mrs. Karen Dessables, Reach for Excellence Executive Director
Father Schmuhl Marist Service Award
The Father Schmuhl Marist Service Award recognizes a staff member who demonstrates Marist values, contributes significantly to the mission of Marist School, and promotes a strong sense of community among peers through collaborative efforts and style. This award honors Mrs. Karen Dessables as she concludes her tenure as the executive director of Reach for Excellence in summer 2023. Mrs. Dessables is widely known for her irrepressible joy that radiates in her work and personal connections with Reach students and their families.

Dr. Isaac Gitonga, Math Teacher
Archbishop’s Outstanding Service Award
The Archdiocese of Atlanta annually recognizes an individual within each school for outstanding service and commitment to the mission and ministry of Catholic education. This year, Marist School awarded the Archbishop’s Outstanding Service Award to Dr. Isaac Gitonga, math teacher and Reach for Excellence volunteer, for his decades-long service to the Marist mission and his devotion and care for the education and well-being of his students.

Dr. Nic Hoffmann ’03, Social Studies Teacher
MacGinnitie Award for Innovation
The MacGinnitie Award for Innovation recognizes a faculty member whose initiative and creativity have made a recognizable difference in the education program, delivery of critical services, the school’s standing in the community, and/or fidelity to its educational mission. Dr. Nic Hoffmann ’03 is recognized with this award by his peers for his contribution to Marist School curriculum in the social studies department by introducing such classes as the Civil War Seminar, Critical Thinking and Podcasting, and reimagining the American Experiment. His cross-curricular innovations have made a recognizable difference to the fidelity of Marist’s educational mission.

Ms. Shannon Juhan, English Teacher
Goizueta Chair of Excellence
The Goizueta Chair of Excellence recognizes innovative teaching, high standards of professional development, promotion of cross-cultural understanding and global interest, and involvement in student extracurricular activities. This year’s recipient of the Goizueta Chair of Excellence, Ms. Shannon Juhan, is known not only for her work ensuring the inclusivity of Marist School curriculum but also for exemplary care and concern for her English students and swim and dive student-athletes. She served as a core team member working to revise numerous courses in the English department. As a teacher and coach, Ms. Juhan is known for going above and beyond for her students.

Mrs. Olga Kirillova, Physical Education Teacher; Track and Field Coach
Frank P. Hagan Memorial Coach’s Award
The Frank P. Hagan Memorial Coach’s Award honors a coach for his or her contribution to the Marist School community and for inspiring in student-athletes growth and personal excellence through competition, sportsmanship, and teamwork. Mrs. Olga Kirillova is awarded the Frank P. Hagan Memorial Coach’s Award for her commitment and positive outlook as strength and conditioning coach and mentor to student-athletes and physical education students. As a result of her contributions as an outstanding pole vault coach, Marist boys and girls track and field most recently won 2022 state championship titles.

Mrs. Erin Shern Paul ’92, Theology Teacher
Loridans Academic Fellowship
The Loridans Academic Fellowship recognizes a distinguished classroom teacher for his or her excellence and commitment to learning and student personal development, for exemplifying the educational mission of Marist School, for dedication to pedagogy and professional advancement, and for contributions to the school’s overall progress. Awardees are appointed for a three-year period and receive a sabbatical term for professional and personal renewal. This year’s Fellowship is awarded to Mrs. Erin Shern Paul ’92 for her visionary work exemplifying the educational mission of Marist, fulfilling the school’s commitment to living its mission, and advancing the Marist charism both through her courses as well as a proven commitment to service and spiritual growth through retreats. Her sabbatical term will include a trip to foundational Marist sites in France with the goal of providing structure and materials for others to recreate.

Congratulations to these exceptional individuals! We are blessed by your leadership and commitment to our Marist community.

List of 1 items.

Marist School

3790 Ashford Dunwoody Road, NE
Atlanta, GA 30319-1899
(770) 457-7201
An Independent Catholic School of the Marist Fathers and Brothers