Marist School Honors 2023-2024 Faculty and Staff Award Recipients

Marist School is thrilled to announce the distinguished recipients of the faculty and staff awards for the 2023-2024 academic year. These outstanding educators were celebrated at the annual St. Peter Chanel Society Recognition Celebration held on Tuesday, October 17 at the Atlanta History Center. Their contributions to Marist School are highly valued and essential to the fulfillment of the school’s vital mission.
Mr. Matthew J. Romano ’95, Social Studies Department Chair

Archbishop’s Outstanding Service Award

The Archdiocese of Atlanta annually recognizes an individual within each Catholic school for outstanding service and commitment to the mission and ministry of Catholic education. Mr. Matthew J. Romano '95 is the deserving recipient of this prestigious award. His profound care for Marist School and its students shines through in his daily interactions with both students and colleagues. As a department chair and coach, Mr. Romano plays a pivotal role in nurturing student culture and well-being, as evidenced by his instrumental contributions to the mental health task force. His influence extends to challenging his peers to continuously strive for their best.

Mrs. Julie McCrary Rogers ’92, Administrative Assistant to the Dean of Students and Dean of Student Life

Father Schmuhl Marist Service Award

The Father Schmuhl Marist Service Award recognizes a staff member who demonstrates Marist values, contributes significantly to the mission of Marist School, and promotes a strong sense of community among peers through collaborative efforts and style. This year, we proudly present the award to Mrs. Julie McCrary Rogers ’92 for her invaluable contributions that enable Marist to operate more effectively and efficiently. Her unwavering commitment to excellence, accountability, and her boundless patience have a profound daily impact on the community.

Mr. Christopher P. Marshall, Physical Education Department Chair and Swimming & Diving Coach

Frank P. Hagan Memorial Coach’s Award

The Frank P. Hagan Memorial Coach’s Award celebrates coaches who make a significant contribution to the Marist School community and instill in student-athletes values of personal growth, excellence, sportsmanship, and teamwork. This year, Swimming & Diving Coach Mr. Christopher P. Marshall is awarded the Frank P. Hagan Memorial Coach’s Award. His ability to shape athletes into champions is exemplified by three consecutive state championship titles (2020-2022) for the boys team and a 2021 state championship title for the girls team. He is also a CPR instructor and mentors aspiring young coaches. His emphasis on character development, teamwork, and sportsmanship ensures that his athletes not only excel in the pool but also grow as compassionate individuals.

Ms. Sarah Conn, Science Teacher

Goizueta Chair of Excellence

The Goizueta Chair of Excellence recognizes innovative teaching, high standards of professional development, promotion of cross-cultural understanding and global interest, and involvement in student extracurricular activities. This year’s recipient, Ms. Sarah Conn, is being honored for her unwavering commitment to enhancing her students’ educational experiences. She frequently attends professional development conferences and workshops and generously shares her acquired knowledge with colleagues. Beyond the classroom, she has contributed as a coach, retreat moderator, and dedicated member of the Diversity Advisory Committee. These roles underscore her profound involvement in all aspects of campus life, the student experience, and the holistic formation of each student.

Mrs. Erin Shern Paul ’92, Theology Teacher

Loridans Academic Fellowship

The Loridans Academic Fellowship recognizes a distinguished classroom teacher for his or her excellence and commitment to learning and student personal development, for exemplifying the educational mission of Marist School, for dedication to pedagogy and professional advancement, and for contributions to the school’s overall progress. Awardees are appointed for a three-year period and receive a sabbatical term for professional and personal renewal. Mrs. Erin Shern Paul ’92 is in her second year of the Loridans Academic Fellowship. She continues her visionary work in service of the school’s mission and advancing the Marist charism both through her courses as well as a proven commitment to service and spiritual growth through retreats. Her sabbatical term will include a trip to foundational Marist sites in France with the goal of providing structure and materials for others to recreate.

Mr. David J. Negus ’84, Social Studies Teacher

MacGinnitie Award for Innovation

The MacGinnitie Award for Innovation honors a faculty member who has demonstrated innovation and creativity, significantly impacting the education program, delivery of critical services, the school’s standing in the community, and/or fidelity to its educational mission. Mr. David J. Negus ’84 is recognized with this award by his peers in recognition of his transformation of the social studies curriculum. He is known among students as a captivating, thoughtful storyteller who empowers them to achieve success, even when it seems out of reach.

Mr. Scott B. Tufts, Media and Broadcast Journalism Teacher

Faber-McKinley-Stadler Award

The Faber-McKinley-Stadler Award acknowledges a faculty member, whether teaching or non-teaching, who exemplifies professional excellence and commitment to continuous growth in their field. This award is comprised of three grants that rotate annually. This year, the Rebecca Cox-McKinley Humanities and Global Education Grant has been presented to Mr. Scott B. Tufts for serving as the media and broadcast journalism teacher and Marist Broadcasting Club (MBC) moderator. He will travel to four colleges across the country to explore media curriculum and best practices with the intent of enriching the student experience in both MBC and the classroom.

Marist School

3790 Ashford Dunwoody Road, NE
Atlanta, GA 30319-1899
(770) 457-7201
An Independent Catholic School of the Marist Fathers and Brothers